## The Bryan Barnacle Memorial Cup



## THE BARNEY TROPHY

The idea for this trophy, in memory of Barney, is to promote, within the club, Barney's ethos towards bowls. Before his illness he made himself available, throughout the season, for all home and away games and was a true team player. He believed that each and every member, of a rink, contributed to the game and the skip is only as good as the other three bowlers. Therefore, because of this, and to allow everyone a chance of winning, the following format and rules have been drawn up. These have worked successfully since the first season that they were used in 2006.

## **RULES OF PLAY**

1. To be played for annually throughout the season on an individual basis. Each person to carry forward their rink results after each game. The winner will be the person with the highest average score. Only mid-week friendly matches to count towards the trophy.

- 2. The average will be worked out by averaging the amount of points won by the amount of points available to be won. Points will be awarded: 2 for a win / 1 for a draw. No other points will be awarded.
- e.g. If a person plays 20 games and wins 14 and draws 2 = 30 points out of a possible 40 (20games X 2 points = 40) giving them an average of 75% (30/40 X 100/1). A person playing 15 games and winning 10 will be awarded 20 points out of 30 and therefore have an average of 66.66% (20/30 X 100/1).
- 3. To ensure fair play to all, to qualify each player must play a minimum of 12 games (there are at least 35 available in a normal season) and at least 6 must be played at home and 6 away. Cancelled games will not count. Players playing in or against a triple will have 25% of shots deducted / added and this will form the basis of the rink score. In the event of abandonment of the game the scores at the time will count.
- 4. Should the averages for 2 or more players be the same at the end of the season the winner will be the one with the best shot difference over the season and in the unlikely event of there still being a tie, shots for will decide the winner.
- 5. The results will be published at the AGM, following the season and the winner will receive a trophy. No interim list will be published through the season. This will ensure that rink selection remains honest and that everybody plays with each other as far as is possible and with the best interests of the club at heart.
- 6. In the event of any disputes the committee decision is final.

WINNERS OF THE BARNEY TROPHY:		
2006:	<b>George Parkinson</b>	71.7%
2007:	Dave Owen	82.7%
2008:	Rex Fallen	65.6%
2009:	Dave Owen	68%
2010:	Rosemarie Geden	72.2%
2011:	Ernie Foskett	75%
2012:	John Burrows	71.05%
2013:	Alan Green	88.23%
2014:	Rosemarie Geden	71.73%
2015:	Dave Owen	80.76%
2016:	Barry Jarman	66.66%
2017:	lan Box	75.93%
2018:	Mel Smith	80%
2019:	Rosemarie Geden	91.66%
2022:	Dave Scobie	80.8%